top of page

Dr. Hadjistavropoulos obtained her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology at the University of British Columbia in 1995. She is a registered doctoral psychologist in Saskatchewan and is also certified by the Canadian Association of Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies, the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, and the Canadian Register of Health Services Providers in Psychology.

Dr. Hadjistavropoulos is a Full Professor of Psychology at the University of Regina, Founder and Director of the Online Therapy Unit, and Founder and Principal Investigator of PSPNET. She previously served as Director of Clinical Training and Director of the Psychology Training Clinic from 2002-2015.


Dr. Heather Hadjistavropoulos

Ph.D., R.D. Psych.

Follow Dr. Hadjistavropoulos' research:

  • researchgate
  • googlescholar
  • Twitter

Prior to working at the University, Dr. Hadjistavropoulos held the position of Associate Director, Clinical Research and Development in the former Regina Health District and, as such, led decision-makers, service providers, and students in health research endeavors and the development of evidence-based recommendations to improve health care.

Dr. Hadjistavropoulos has published and presented her research widely (>390 peer-reviewed publications/presentations) and been highly successful in securing national (e.g., Canadian Institutes of Health Research) and provincial (e.g., Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation) funding to support her research. She has led/co-led >64 research grants/contracts with >$22 million in funding, employed >118 research assistants/associates, and provided extensive undergraduate (32 students), graduate (22 MA & 22 Ph.D students), and post-doctoral (2 fellows) level research supervision.


See Dr. Hadjistavropoulos' CV:

Dr. Hadjistavropoulos has been recognized by many organizations for her contributions to research, teaching, and clinical service delivery.

2018-2019: SHRF Excellence Award for highest rated Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation's 2018-2019 Patient-Oriented Research Leadership Grant Competition II in partnership with Saskatchewan Centre for Patient-Oriented Research

2019: Women Leaders in Digital Health 2019: Peer-recognized by Digital Health Canada as being a female visionary harnessing the power of IT to transform health and healthcare in Canada today. Acknowledged as having significantly contributed to the advancement of digital health in Canada through leadership, influence, involvement, and impact.

2019: Ronald Melzack - Canadian Journal of Pain 2018 Paper of the Year Award “Effectiveness, acceptability and feasibility of an Internet-delivered cognitive behavioral pain management program in a routine online therapy clinic in Canada”

2018: CIHR Best Brains Exchange Travel Award and Prize for “Virtual Care in Mental Health and Addictions Best Brains Exchange," Halifax, Nova Scotia October 30, 2018

2017: National Recipient, CAMH Difference Makers - 150 Leading Canadians for Mental Health

2016: Fellow, Canadian Association of Cognitive Behavioural Therapies

2014: Fellow, Canadian Psychological Association

2011: Fellow, Clinical Section of the Canadian Psychological Association

2011: Jillings Award, Psychological Society of Saskatchewan

2010: Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation Achievement Award

2010: Canadian Council of Professional Psychology Programs - Award of Excellence in Professional Training

July 2005-June 2007: President's Scholar - University of Regina (3 course teaching reduction)

May 2005: Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Research - University of Regina

May 2002: Canadian Pain Society Early Investigator Award

April 1999: YWCA of Regina Women of Distinction Award - Health and Wellness

June 1999: Canadian Psychological Association's President's New Researcher Award

bottom of page